The importance of ATOs

There are a lot of different factors that go into the outcome of a basketball game. Points, rebounds, defensive stops, etc. However, the most important thing that isn’t considered in the public eye is the execution of the scheme. There are so many actions and play designs in basketball that don’t get discussed, but one of the most important ones, in my opinion, are ATOs, a.k.a. after time outs.

After timeouts can be the difference between a Loss or a win within one simple play. So for today’s blog, I will discuss why I think After time out play designs are crucial.

There are two different kinds of ATOs, in my opinion; you have something you draw up into a set, or it can be a play from the inbound play. Right here is some play designs ATO from this past NBA Summer league that I really enjoyed https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlNzKgwngpY.

ATOs aren’t just on the players, however, to execute. You need your coaching staff to draw up plays that will actually work and get people in scoring positions. There are instances where some teams just aren’t good because the coach lacks the ability to draw up a good play design, then there are instances where coaches can create incredible play designs that help a lack of players’ talent to perform it.

Overall, I think this is a very crucial part of the game of basketball that isn’t discussed enough about the outcome of wins and losses. If you enjoyed reading this, make sure to subscribe to my page for more articles in the future, and make sure to check out my previous posts. Lastly, make sure to follow me on twitter @Noahnobert!

Elements of being a good passer

There are many aspects to the game of basketball, including different skill sets, play styles, etc. One I’ve always admired is being a great passer and creating good scoring opportunities for others. The things you can do with the ball in your hand are incredible; that’s why I’m going to talk about what elements I…

The keys to a good jump shot

There are multiple ways to shoot a basketball; one of the most commonly known ways is a jump shot. There are many different ways to shoot a jump shot, with different forms, styles, etc. But I’m going to talk about what the keys are to a good jump shot compared to a bad one. The…

Coaching preparations

When it comes to becoming a coach, there’s a lot of preparation that has to be considered. You must look at every aspect of what you want to do, game prep, season prep, and, honestly, internal evaluation. I’m going to talk about what I consider to be the three most important aspects of prepping to…

Leave a comment

Comments (

0

)

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started